Wednesday, July 27/3:30 PM/Grande Ballroom

The George David Birkhoff Prize

The George David Birkhoff Prize, established in 1967, is awarded jointly by SIAM and AMS. The prize is awarded for an outstanding contribution to applied mathematics in the highest and broadest sense.

The recipients are Ivo Babuska, University of Maryland, College Park, and Srinivasa R. S. Varadhan, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University.