Sixth SIAM Conference on Applications of Dynamical Systems, May 20-24, 2001, Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort, Snowbird, Utah

SIAM Activity Group on Dynamical Systems Prize Session

Sunday, May 20
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Room: Ballroom
Chair: Martin Golubitsky, University of Houston

The J.D. Crawford Prize is awarded to one individual for recent outstanding work on a topic in nonlinear science, as evidenced by a publication in English in a peer-reviewed journal within the four calendar years preceding the SIAG/DS meeting at which the prize is awarded. This year's awardee is Björn Sandstede, Ohio State University.

The Jürgen Moser Lecture Prize is awarded to a person who has made distinguished contributions to nonlinear science. The term 'nonlinear science' includes dynamical systems theory and its applications, experiments, and computations/simulations. This year's awardee is Yakov G. Sinai, Princeton University.

The Jürgen Moser Lecture: KAM-theory and Renormalization Group

KAM theory led to the great progress in non-linear dynamics by giving the methods to construct invariant tori and quasi-periodic solutions.What remains after that is a huge set of problems connected with scaling properties of these tori, their breaking -ups, transport properties.The only hope now in attacking these problems is connected with the ideas of the renormalization group theory.During the lecture I shall recall some facts from the early history of KAM-theory and discuss some possibilities of the renormalization group method.

Yakov G. Sinai
Princeton University

©2000, Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
Designed by Donaghy's Web Consulting
Created 7/3/00; Updated 5/08/01