Sponsored by the SIAM Activity Group on Geosciences


The SIAM Conference on Mathematical and Computational Issues in the Geosciences will be held at the following location:

Palais des Papes
The International Conference Center
RMG - 6, rue Pente Rapide
Charles Ansidei
84000 Avignon, France
Tél : +33 (0)4 90 27 50 00
Fax : +33 (0)4 90 27 50 58


Atmospheric Modeling
Bio-Porous Materials Modeling
Earthquake Modeling
Flow and Transport in Porous Media
High Performance Computing Applications
Iterative Methods
Multiphase Flows
Multiphysics Applications
Multiscale Phenomena
Numerical Methods for Geoscience
Parameter Estimation
Reactive Flows
Risk Analysis
Sensitivity Analysis
Surface Water and Ocean Modeling
Stochastic Modeling and Geostatistics
Scaling and Heterogeneity


From points of view ranging from science to public policy, there is burgeoning interest in modeling of geoscientific problems. Some examples include petroleum exploration and recovery, underground waste disposal and cleanup of hazardous waste, earthquake prediction, weather prediction, and global climate change. Such modeling is fundamentally interdisciplinary; physical and mathematical modeling at appropriate scales, physical experiments, mathematical theory, probability and statistics, numerical approximations, and large-scale computational algorithms all have important roles to play.

This conference facilitates communication between scientists of varying backgrounds and work environments facing similar issues in different fields, and provides a forum in which advances in parts of the larger modeling picture can become known to those working in other parts. These kinds of interactions are needed for meaningful progress in understanding and predicting complex physical phenomena in the geosciences.

Funding Agency

SIAM and the conference organizing committee wish to extend their thanks and appreciation to the U. S. National Science Foundation for their support of this conference.


EDF logo Électricité de France (EDF R&D)  www.edf.fr

CEA logo Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (CEA)    www.cea.fr

IRSN Logo Institut de Radioprotection et de Sûreté Nucléaire (IRSN)  www.irsn.fr

Andra Logo Agence Nationale pour la Gestion des Déchets Radioactifs (Andra) www.andra.fr

IFP Logo Institut Français du Pétrole (IFP)  www.ifp.fr

Organizing Committee

Lynn Bennethum (co-chair), University of Colorado, Denver
Alain Bourgeat (co-chair), University of Lyon, France
Clint Dawson, University of Texas, Austin
Helge Dahle, University of Bergen, Norway
Michel Kern, INRIA, France
Jean Roberts, INRIA, France


Last Edited: 11/16/04
DHTML Menus by http://www.milonic.com/