Message from Conference Organizers

With the rapid progress in high performance computers, database systems, data warehouse systems, remote sensing, telecommunication systems, data collection tools, data storage devices, and the World Wide Web, the amount of data being collected and made available has been growing rapidly, far exceeding the capability of scientists, engineers, and business analysts to analyze it. Without new algorithms and innovative applications, most of these data will never be analyzed. Thus, data mining has become an important research frontier for the automated analysis of large amounts of data.

The First SIAM International Conference on Data Mining (SDM01) provided an important international forum for those interested in algorithms, computing systems, and innovative applications in data mining and data intensive computing.

The SDM01 program included thirty contributed research papers, four invited keynote talks, four tutorials, and a panel by prominent researchers and practitioners in data mining. In addition, four international workshops were held in association with the SDM01 conference. All these activities made this conference an exciting event in data mining.

We want to thank all the presenters and attendees who joined us in Chicago to make this meeting such a success. We also thank all the conference sponsors for their generous contributions. Please join us in working together to make future SDM meetings as exciting.

Robert Grossman
Vipin Kumar
Jiawei Han

SDM'2001 Conference Organization

Conference Co-Chairs

Robert Grossman
Magnify, Inc. and University of Illinois at Chicago, USA

Jiawei Han
Simon Fraser University, Canada

Vipin Kumar
AHPCRC - University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA

Other Conference Chairs

Publicity Chair
Mohammed J. Zaki, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Tutorial Chair
Eui-Hong (Sam) Han, University of Minnesota

Workshop Chair
Hillol Kargupta, Washington State University

Program Committee

Ramesh Agarwal
IBM Research, Hawthorne, USA
Chid Apte
IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, USA
Daniel Barbara
George Mason University, USA
Michael W. Berry
University of Tennessee, USA
Daniel Boley
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis USA
Michael C. Burl
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
Jaime G. Carbonell
Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Soumen Chakrabarti
Indian Institute of Technology, India
Philip Chan
Florida Institute of Technology, USA
Surajit Chaudhuri
Microsoft Research, USA
Alok Choudhary
Northwestern University, USA
Umeshwar Dayal
Hewlett-Packard Laboratories, USA
Vasant Dhar
New York University, USA
Martin Ester
University of Munich, Germany
Fazel Famili
National Research Council of Canada, Canada
Usama Fayyad, USA
Joydeep Ghosh
University of Texas, USA
Ananth Grama
Purdue University, USA
Dimitrios Gunopulos
University of California, Riverside, USA
Yike Guo
Imperial College, United Kingdom
S.K. Gupta
Indian Institute of Technology, India
Howard Ho
IBM Almaden Research Center, USA
H.V. Jagadish
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
Chandrika Kamath
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
Laveen Kanal
University of Maryland, USA
Hillol Kargupta
Washington State University, USA
Ronny Kohavi
Blue Martini Software
Masaru Kitsuregawa
University of Tokyo, Japan
Jan Komorowski
Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Helene Kulsrud
Bing Liu
National University of Singapore
Dunja Mladnic
J. Stefan Institute, Slovenia and Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Rajeev Motwani
Stanford University, USA
Raju Namburu
US Army Research Laboratory, USA
Raymond Ng
University of British Columbia, Canada
Doug Nychka
National Center for Atmospheric Research, USA
William M. Pottenger
Lehigh University and the NCSA, USA
Naren Ramakrishnan
Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University, USA
Rajeev Rastogi
Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies, USA
John Riedl
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA
John F. Roddick
Flinders University, Australia
Shashi Shekhar
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA
Kyuseok Shim
KAIST, Korea
Simeon Simoff
University of Technology, Sydney
David Skillicorn
Queens University at Kingston, Canada
Myra Spiliopoulou
Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany
Jaideep Srivastava
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis and, USA
Paul Stolorz
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
Domenico Talia
ISI-CNR, Italy
Takeo Terano
University of Tsukuba, Japan
Lyle H. Ungar
University of Pennsylvania, USA
Xindong Wu
Colorado School of Mines, USA
Ramasamy Uthurusamy
General Motors Corporation, USA
Mohammed J. Zaki , Publicity Chair
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA



Frank Brickle
Mario Cannataro
Becky Castano
Philip Chan
Florida Tech
Mayur Datar
Stanford University
Dennis DeCoste
David Gevry
Lehigh University
Moustafa Ghanem
Imperial College
Aristides Gionis
Stanford University
Eui-Hong (Sam) Han
University of Minnesota
Mahesh Joshi
IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
Irving Kessler
April Kontostathis
Lehigh University
Jirada Kuntraruk
Lehigh University
Llew Mason
Blue Martini Software
Batul J. Mirza

Virginia Tech
Rajesh Parekh
Blue Martini Software
Saverio Perugini
Virginia Tech
Clara Pizzuti
Michael Steinbach
University of Minnesota
Pang N. Tan
University of Minnesota
Zijian Zheng
Blue Martini Software
Limei Zhou

Conference Sponsors

Institutional Sponsors

Corporate Sponsors

Corporate Contributors

©2000 Society for Industry and Applied Mathematics
Designed by Jennifer Barba
Created 1/10/01