Scenes from the 2006 Prize Luncheon

The following prizes and awards were presented in Boston on July 11, during the 2006 SIAM Annual Meeting:

I.E. Block Community Lecture

Simon Levin, Princeton University

Julian Cole Lecture Michael J. Shelley, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University

George B. Dantzig Prize (awarded jointly with the Mathematical Programming Society) *Éva Tardos*, Cornell University

Richard C. DiPrima Prize *Xinwei Yu*, University of California, Los Angeles

AWM–SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture Irene Fonseca, Carnegie Mellon University

Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization (awarded jointly with MPS) Roger Fletcher, University of Dundee, Scotland Sven Leyffer, Argonne National Laboratory Philippe Toint, University of Namur, Belgium

George Pólya Prize

Gregory F. Lawler, Cornell University Oded Schramm, Microsoft Corporation Wendelin Werner, Université de Paris-Sud

W.T. and Idalia Reid Prize in Mathematics Peter Kloeden, J.W. Goethe Universität, Frankfurt am Main, Germany

SIAG/APDE Prize

François Golse, Université Paris VII–Denis Diderot *Laure Saint-Raymond*, Université Pierre & Marie Curie, France

SIAM Award in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling

Problem A, The Continuous Problem: University of Colorado at Boulder (Brian Camley, Pascal Getreuer, and Bradley Klingenberg) **Problem B, The Discrete Problem:** Harvard University (Benjamin Conlee, Neal Gupta, and Christopher Yetter)

SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession

Peter Lax, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University

SIAM Outstanding Paper Prizes

Girish N. Nair and Robin J. Evans, University of Melbourne, Australia Jean-Michel Coron and Emmanuel Trélat, Université de Paris-Sud Michael Hintermüller and Karl Kunisch, University of Graz, Austria, and Kazufumi Ito, North Carolina State University

SIAM Student Paper Prizes

Laurent Demanet, California Institute of Technology Emanuele Viola, Harvard University Hongchao Zhang, University of Florida

The John von Neumann Lecture

George C. Papanicolaou, Stanford University

Look for additional coverage of 2006 prizes and awards in upcoming issues of SIAM News.









Éva Tardos, recipient of the George B. Dantzig Prize, was recognized "for her deep and wideranging contributions to mathematical programming, including the first strongly polynomialtime algorithm for minimum-cost flows, several other variants of network flows, integer programming, submodularity, circuit complexity, scheduling, approximation algorithms, and combinatorial auctions."

SIAM president Martin Golubitsky, with George Papanicolaou of Stanford University, who was named the 2006 John von Neumann lecturer "in recognition of his wideranging development of penetrating analytic and stochastic methods and their application to a broad range of phenomena in the physical, geophysical, and financial sciences. Specifically, his research on imaging and time reversal in random media, on financial mathematics, and on



nonlinear PDEs has been significant and influential." Papanicolaou gave the lecture, "Imaging in Random Media," immediately following the prize ceremony.