SIAM News Welcomes New Editor-in-Chief

December 18, 2012

In January, Hans Kaper will officially move into the newly created position of editor-in-chief of SIAM News. His very successful trial run as a guest editor of our ICIAM 2011 coverage bodes well for an increasingly lively, well-rounded, and authoritative publication.

A SIAM Fellow (class of 2009), Kaper was named Senior Mathematician Emeritus at Argonne National Laboratory on his retirement in 2008. Many readers will know him from his tenure (2001�2008) as a program director at the National Science Foundation. He is currently an adjunct professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at Georgetown University, and he maintains ties in Illinois as an adjunct professor in the School of Music at the University of Illinois at Urbana�Champaign.

He identifies his current research interest as the application of dynamical systems techniques to the Earth's climate system. In related projects, he is a co-author of the forthcoming SIAM book Mathematics and Climate, co-director of the NSF-funded Mathematics and Climate Research Network, and a SIAM representative to Mathematics of Planet Earth 2013. He worked recently with SIAM News staff to assemble a new editorial board.

In recent weeks, an unsettling real-world development---the ruling of an Italian judge in the case of six seismologists on trial for having failed to pinpoint the time of an earthquake that devastated the town of L'Aquila---set Kaper and the new editorial board in motion. A request to William Newman of UCLA for a perspective on the implications of the Italian case rapidly produced the article in this issue. This issue, says editorial board member Mac Hyman, "could affect any of our members engaged in using mathematical analysis and models, including computer simulations, to make predictions where there are economic or public health consequences."

H. Kaper, editor-in-chief, Georgetown University
J.S. Abbott, Corning Inc.
C.J. Budd, University of Bath, UK
R.E. Caflisch, University of California, Los Angeles
C. Castillo-Chavez, Arizona State University
T. Colin, University of Bordeaux, France
A.S. El-Bakry, ExxonMobil Production Co.
D.J. Geman, Johns Hopkins University
M.G. Gerritsen, Stanford University
A. Griewank, Humboldt University, Germany
J.M. Hyman, Tulane University
L.C. McInnes, Argonne National Laboratory
S. Minkoff, University of Texas at Dallas
T. Mitsui, Doshisha University, Japan
N. Nigam, Simon Fraser University, Canada
R.A. Renaut, Arizona State University
F. Santosa, University of Minnesota
G. Strang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
C. Woodward, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
T. Zariphopoulou, University of Texas Austin and
University of Oxford, UK

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+