J.D. Crawford Prize (SIAG/Dynamical Systems)

John David Crawford (1954 - 1998) received his doctorate in Physics from the University of California at Berkeley in 1983 and was a Professor in Physics at the University of Pittsburgh from 1990. His research centered on collisionless plasmas and on pattern formation (particularly in the Faraday surface wave experiment) where he made fundamental contributions. John David served as co-organizer of the 1995 Dynamical Systems SIAG meeting; the SIAG/DS honors his memory with the establishment of this prize.

Principal Guideline

The SIAM Activity Group on Dynamical Systems (SIAG/DS) J. D. Crawford Prize, established in 2000, is awarded to one individual for recent outstanding work on a topic in nonlinear science, as evidenced by a publication in English in a peer-reviewed journal within the four calendar years preceding the SIAG/DS meeting at which the prize is awarded.

The term 'nonlinear science' is used in the spirit of the SIAG/DS meetings; specifically it includes dynamical systems theory and its applications as well as experiments and computations/simulations.

Prize Committee

The prize committee will consist of a panel of five members.  All committee members, including the chair, are appointments.  The SIAG Chair, in consultation with the other officers and the Advisory Board, will form a list of people to serve on the prize selection committee and will submit the list to the SIAM Vice President at Large (SIAM VP) for approval prior to inviting the committee members to serve.  The SIAG officers will seek to ensure a diverse composition of the prize committee in research area, gender, geography, employment sector (industry, national laboratories, universities), and under-represented groups.  The appointments will be made at least twelve months in advance of the prize award date.

The term of office will be from the date of appointment until the date of the prize award.

Rules of Operation
The committee will solicit nominations for the prize from the general membership of the SIAG/DS, using SIAM office resources as needed, and from other members of the scientific community. If a committee member is nominated for the award, the SIAG Chairperson will appoint a replacement upon notification by the committee chairperson and with the approval of the SIAM President.

Selection Procedures

The research of the candidate must contain significant contributions to the field of nonlinear science.  One particular paper must be cited as evidencing the contributions, though a body of papers may be discussed in the nomination.  The paper must have been published in English in a peer-reviewed journal bearing a publication date within the eligibility period, the four calendar years preceding the meeting at which the prize is awarded.

Committee's Recommendation
The prize committee will notify the SIAM VP of its selection at least six months prior to the award date. The prize committee must cite one paper that supports the selection of the nominee. The notification must be accompanied by a written justification and a citation not exceeding 25 words that can be used for a certificate and read at award time.

The SIAM VP will accept or reject the recommendation at least five months prior to the award date.

If the recommendation is accepted, the award presentation will be made according to the procedure below. If the recommendation is not accepted, the SIAM VP and the Chairperson of the Prize Committee will select an acceptable paper at least four months prior to the award date.

Notification of Award

The Chairperson of the Prize Committee will notify the recipient of the award at least three months in advance of the award date. An invitation will also be extended to the recipient to attend the award ceremony to receive the award.

Description of the Award

The award will consist of a certificate containing the citation, and a cash award of $750. SIAM will cover reasonable travel expenses to attend the conference.

Award Date and Eligibility Period
The prize is awarded every second year (starting in 2001) at the biennial SIAM Conference on Dynamical Systems. The eligibility period is the four calendar years preceding the meeting at which the prize is awarded.

Obligations of Recipient
The awardee is expected to attend the award ceremony. Travel funds will be made available to reimburse the recipient for expenses incurred in attending the award ceremony.

The Award Presentation

The Chairperson of the SIAG/DS will announce the award at the chosen meeting and present the award to the recipient. The recipient is not required to be present to receive the award.

An announcement of the award recipient will appear in the SIAM News and the SIAG/DS Newsletter.

Prize History

Previous recipients of the J.D. Crawford Prize (SIAG/Dynamical Systems):

The next award will be made in 2019.

Selection Committee

Click here to see a list of selection committee members by year.

Revised July 29, 2013.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+