The SIAM Workshop on Combinatorial Scientific Computing (CSC07)
February 17 - 19, 2007
Costa Mesa, CA
Sponsored by the SIAM Activity Groups on Computational Science and Engineering and The SIAM Activity Group on Supercomputing
Supported by the Department of Energy and Old Dominion University.

Combinatorial algorithms play a crucial enabling role in computational science and engineering (CSE), and as problems and data sets increase in size and complexity, this role continues to grow. To  provide a forum for researchers interested  in the  interaction of combinatorial mathematics and algorithms with CSE, the SIAM  Workshop on Combinatorial Scientific Computing (CSC07) will be organized in Costa Mesa,  CA, on Feb 17-19, 2007.The CSC07 workshop will  precede the 2007 SIAM Conference on Computational Science and Engineering, and  is  organized in co-operation with  the SIAM Activity Groups on  Computational Science and Engineering, and Supercomputing.

CSC07  follows two earlier  CSC workshops held in 2004 and 2005. The First SIAM Workshop on Combinatorial Scientific Computing (CSC04) was held at San Francisco in February  2004, and the Second International Workshop on CSC (CSC05) was held at Toulouse, France in June 2005. Each of these workshops was  attended by close to a hundred participants, and featured  about twenty-five  plenary and selected talks on the themes of parallel computing, high-performance algorithms, sparse matrix computations, combinatorial problems in optimization,  automatic differentiation, mesh generation, computational biology, and combinatorial matrix theory. The CSC07 Workshop aims to bring together researchers interested in these themes as well as other aspects of combinatorial mathematics and algorithms in scientific computing, broadly interpreted.

The invited speakers for the CSC07 Workshop are Dr. Iain Duff of the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (Oxford) and CERFACS (Toulouse) and Professor Phillip M. Duxbury of the Physics department at Michigan State University. Additionally, three  invited talks on  combinatorial applications in computational science will be given by Esmond Ng (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab); Lori Diachin (Lawrence Livermore National Lab); and Laura Frink (Sandia National Labs).   The first two of these speakers will discuss SciDAC (Scientific Discovery through Advanced Computing) Centers recently  funded by the Department of Energy.

The program for the workshop  and the abstracts of the talks are now available  at  The list of accepted posters will also be available at this web page. Poster presentations will be accepted until January 22, 2007. Abstracts for poster presentations, at most 100 words long, should be submitted to Professor Sivan Toledo at [email protected].

We have received funding from the Department of Energy to partially support the travel costs of students and early career researchers, who should submit a two page resume and a letter of reference to Professor Sivan Toledo at [email protected].

Pre-registration for the CSC07 Workshop will be available on-line until January 22, 2007. A workshop dinner is being organized to celebrate Iain Duff's 60th birthday on Saturday night (February 17), which will include a three-course meal and will cost about $40. Those interested should contact the organizers at [email protected] before January 22, 2007 so that reservations could be made with the restaurant.  Reservations can be made after January 22 only if space is still available. Since SIAM is not organizing the dinner, payment for it will need to be made separately from registering for the workshop. 

We gratefully acknowledge the financial support of the Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Research of the Department of Energy, the College of Science and the Office of Research at Old Dominion University.

Program Committee:
Alex Pothen (Old Dominion University), Co-Chair
Bruce A. Hendrickson (Sandia National Labs), Co-Chair
Srinivas Aluru (Iowa State)
Erik G. Boman (Sandia National Labs)
John R. Gilbert (UC Santa Barbara)
Paul Hovland (Argonne National Labs)
Ravi Kumar (Yahoo Research)
Fredrik Manne (Bergen)
Esmond Ng (Lawrence Berkeley Lab)
Jean Roman (LaBRI and INRIA Futurs, Bordeaux)
Jennifer A. Scott (Rutherford Appleton Lab)
Daniel A. Spielman (Yale)
Sivan Toledo (Tel Aviv)

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+