Algorithm Engineering and Experiments (ALENEX17) and Analytic Algorithmics and Combinatorics (ANALCO17) will take place at the same location, and will hold sessions during the SODA conference.

SODA is jointly sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory and the SIAM Activity Group on Discrete Mathematics. This conference is co-sponsored by Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona, Spain.

Statement on Inclusiveness

As a professional society, SIAM is committed to providing an inclusive climate that encourages the open expression and exchange of ideas, that is free from all forms of discrimination, harassment, and retaliation, and that is welcoming and comfortable to all members and to those who participate in its activities. In pursuit of that commitment, SIAM is dedicated to the philosophy of equality of opportunity and treatment for all participants regardless of gender, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, race, color, national or ethnic origin, religion or religious belief, age, marital status, disabilities, veteran status, field of expertise, or any other reason not related to scientific merit. This philosophy extends from SIAM conferences, to its publications, and to its governing structures and bodies. We expect all members of SIAM and participants in SIAM activities to work towards this commitment.



All sessions and on-site registration will occur at the Hotel Porta Fira:
Hotel Porta Fira
Plaza Europa, 45
08908 Hospitalet de Llobregat
Barcelona, Spain
Telephone: +34 932 973 500


To RSVP to the conference on Facebook and connect with other attendees, find roommates etc., please visit https://www.facebook.com/events/468554736682769/.

If you are tweeting about the conference, please use the designated hashtag to enable other attendees to keep up with the Twitter conversation and to allow better archiving of our conference discussions. The hashtag for this meeting is #SIAMDA17.

Program Committee Chair

Philip Klein, Brown University, USA

Local Conference Chair

Conrado Martínez, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
Email: [email protected]

Program Committee

Pankaj Agarwal, Duke University, USA
Yair Bartal, Hebrew University, Israel
Sébastien Bubeck, Microsoft Research, USA
Anne Driemel, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
David Eppstein, University of California, Irvine, USA
Jeff Erickson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Rong Ge, Duke University, USA
MohammadTaghi Hajiaghayi, University of Maryland, USA
Thomas P. Hayes, University of New Mexico, USA
Dorit Hochbaum, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Ken-ichi Kawarabayashi, National Institute of Informatics, Japan
Jochen Koenemann, University of Waterloo, Canada
Ravishankar Krishnaswamy, Microsoft Research, India
Reut Levi, Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany
Dániel Marx, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Hungary
Nicole Megow, Technical University of Munich, Germany
Ruta Mehta, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
Vahab Mirrokni, Google, USA
Shay Mozes, The Interdisciplinary Center Herzliya, Israel
Kamesh Munagala, Duke University, USA
Jelani Nelson, Harvard University, USA
Lorenzo Orecchia, Boston University, USA
Alessandro Panconesi, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Andrea Pietracaprina, University of Padova, Italy
Ely Porat, Bar-Ilan University, Israel
Vijaya Ramachandran, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Adi Rosén, National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) and University of Paris Diderot, France
Maria Serna, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
Aaron Sidford, Stanford University, USA
Gerth Stølting Brodal, Aarhus University, Denmark
Mikkel Thorup, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Virginia Vassilevska Williams, Stanford University, USA
Dorothea Wagner, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Roger Wattenhofer, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Matt Weinberg, Princeton University, USA
Peter Winkler, Dartmouth College, USA
Grigory Yaroslavtsev, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Ke Yi, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China
Neal Young, University of California Riverside, USA

Steering Committee

Pavol Hell, Simon Fraser University, Canada
Daniel Kráľ, University of Warwick, United Kingdom
Dana Randall, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Cliff Stein, Columbia University, USA (chair)
Shang-Hua Teng, University of Southern California, USA



This symposium focuses on research topics related to efficient algorithms and data structures for discrete problems. In addition to the design of such methods and structures, the scope also includes their use, performance analysis, and the mathematical problems related to their development or limitations. Performance analyses may be analytical or experimental and may address worst-case or expected-case performance. Studies can be theoretical or based on data sets that have arisen in practice and may address methodological issues involved in performance analysis.


Funding Agencies

Funding agency information will be posted here when available.



Themes and application areas include, but are not limited to, the following topics:

Aspects of combinatorics and discrete mathematics, such as:
• Combinatorial structures
• Discrete optimization
• Discrete probability
• Finite metric spaces
• Graph theory
• Mathematical programming
• Random structures
• Topological problems

Core topics in discrete algorithms, such as:
• Algorithm analysis
• Data structures
• Experimental algorithmics

Algorithmic aspects of other areas of computer science, such as:
• Combinatorial scientific computing
• Communication networks and the Internet
• Computational geometry and topology
• Computer graphics and computer vision
• Computer systems
• Data compression
• Cryptography and security
• Databases and information retrieval
• Distributed and parallel computing
• Game theory and mechanism design
• Machine learning
• Quantum computing


Important Deadlines

July 6, 2016, 4:59 PM EDT - Deadline - Short Abstract Submission and Paper Registration Deadline
July 13, 2016, 4:59 PM EDT - Deadline - Full Paper Submission
Acceptance/rejection notices will be sent to authors via email in early October 2016.

Early registration: October 16, 2016 EXTENDED to November 11, 2016
Regular Registration: December 30, 2016
Onsite Registration: January 16-19, 2017

November 14, 2016

October 16, 2016


Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+