Call for Nominations: Monroe H. Martin Prize

January 25, 2010

The Institute for Physical Science and Technology at the University of Maryland, College Park, is pleased to announce the Eighth Monroe H. Martin Prize. The prize will be awarded for an outstanding paper in applied mathematics (including numerical analysis) by a young research worker. Candidates must be residents of North America who have not reached their 36th birthday by July 31, 2010. The submitted paper must be by a single author and have been published or accepted for publication in the open literature. The work must not have been performed in connection with the completion of requirements for an academic degree. The candidate must neither be, nor have been, affiliated with the University of Maryland.

Applications from qualified candidates, or nominations, are solicited for the Monroe H. Martin Prize. Entries should include a copy of the paper or contribution, with a covering letter. For full consideration, applications and nominations should be submitted to: R. Roy, Director, Institute for Physical Science and Technology, University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742�2431. Material should be submitted by July 31, 2010.

The recipient of the award will be announced by November 1, 2010. The recipient will be asked to present his or her work at the Monroe H. Martin Lecture at the University of Maryland in December 2010 and will be awarded a prize of $5000 plus travel expenses.

The Monroe H. Martin Prize was established to commemorate the achievements of the late Monroe H. Martin, former director of the Institute for Fluid Dynamics and Applied Mathematics, and chair of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Maryland. Previous prize recipients were Neil Berger (1975), Marshall Slemrod (1980), Jonathan Goodman (1985), Marek Rychlik (1990), A.M. Stuart (1995), Z. Xia (1995), R.J. McCann (2000), Y. Grabovsky (2000), C. Sinan Gunturk (2005), and Jared Tanner (2005).

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+