This conference is being held jointly with SIAM Conference on the Life Sciences (LS10).

To see more photos from AN10/LS10, see our SIAM AN10/LS10 Photoset.

Read an overview of AN10/LS10 on the new conference roundup page here.

Annual Meeting Presentations

Most of the Invited Lectures and Prize Lectures from the 2010 Annual Meeting in Pittsburgh have been captured and are available as slides with synchronized audio. In addition there are PDFs of the slides available for printing. View presentation slides with synchronized audio.


If you’re tweeting about the meeting, please use Twitter hashtag #SIAMAN10. Use the tag ‘SIAMAN10’ if you’d like to share your images and videos from AN10 (without the quotes).

About the Conference

SIAM’s Annual Meeting provides a broad view of the state of the art in applied mathematics, computational science, and their applications through invited presentation, prize lectures, minisymposia, and contributed papers and posters.

Plenary Speakers and Topical Speakers

Timothy J. Barth, NASA Ames Research Center
Carson Chow*, National Institutes of Health
Jesús A. De Loera, University of California, Davis
David Donoho, Stanford University
Charles Fefferman, Princeton University
Inez Fung, University of California, Berkeley
Leslie F. Greengard, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University
Olga Holtz, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany and University of California, Berkeley
Xiaoye Sherry Li, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Clas Jacobson, United Technologies Research Center
Tamara G. Kolda, Sandia National Laboratories
Steven E. Shreve, Carnegie Mellon University
Gigliola Staffilani, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Kim-Chuan Toh, National University of Singapore
Gunther Uhlmann, University of Washington
Charles Wampler, General Motors Research and Development Center

*Joint speaker with the SIAM Conference on the Life Sciences

Special Lectures

AWM-SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture
I. E. Block Community Lecture
Julian Cole Prize Lecture
W. T. and Idalia Reid Prize in Mathematics Lecture
John von Neumann Lecture

Organizing Committee

Organizing Committee Co-chairs
Barbara Lee Keyfitz, The Ohio State University
Lloyd N. Trefethen, Oxford University, United Kingdom

Organizing Committee
Ansu Bagchi, Merck & Company, Inc.
John Chadam, University of Pittsburgh
Michael Dellnitz, Universität Paderborn, Germany
Bard Ermentrout, University of Pittsburgh
Andreas Frommer,  Bergische Universität Wuppertal, Germany
David Keyes, Columbia University and KAUST
Giovanni Leoni, Carnegie Mellon University
Juan C. Meza, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Dianne P. O'Leary, University of Maryland at College Park
Fadil Santosa, University of Minnesota
Katya Scheinberg, IBM
Stephen A. Vavasis, University of Waterloo, Canada

Funding Agency


SIAM and the Conference Organizing Committee wish to extend their thanks and appreciation to the U.S. National Science Foundation for the Workshop Celebrating Diversity.


Important Deadlines

January 12, 2010:  Minisymposium proposals
February 2, 2010:  Abstracts for contributed and minisymposium speakers

December 12, 2009: SIAM Student Travel Award and Post-doc/Early Career Travel Award Applications

June 14, 2010

June 14, 2010

Reservations at the Omni William Penn Hotel are being accepted through Friday, June 18, 2010

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+