Prizes and Awards

A Prizes and Awards Luncheon will be held on Tuesday, July 10, 2012, 12:30 – 2:30 PM in the Hyatt Exhibit Hall located in the Hyatt Regency Minneapolis. 

The following Prizes, Awards and Fellows will be recognized:

The John von Neumann Lecture
Liquid Crystals for Mathematicians
John Ball, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

I. E. Block Community Lecture
Creating Reality: the Mathematics behind Visual Effects
Robert Bridson, The University of British Columbia, Canada

The AWM-SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture
Barbara Lee Keyfitz, The Ohio State University, USA

Richard C. DiPrima Prize
Thomas Goldstein, Stanford University

George Pólya Prize
Vojtech Roedl, Emory University, USA and Mathias Schacht, University of Hamburg, Germany

W. T. and Idalia Reid Prize
Ruth F. Curtain, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

SIAG/FME Junior Scientist Prize
Sergey Nadtochiy, Oxford University, United Kingdom

SIAM Award in the MCM (2011 and 2012 winners)
2011 Recipients
Problem A, The Continuous Problem: “Snowboard Course”
Solution:  "A Half-Blood/Half-Pipe: A Perfect Performance”
                Tsinghua University, Department of Mathematical Sciences, Beijing, P.R. China
Students:  Enhao Gong, Rongsha Li, Xiaoyun Wang
Faculty Advisor:  Professor  Jimin Zhang

Problem B, The Discrete Problem: “Repeater Coordination”
Solution:  "Clustering in a Network”
               Harvey Mudd College, Department of Mathematics, Claremont, California
Students:  Daniel Furlong, Dylan Marriner, Louis Ryan
Faculty Advisor:  Professor Susan Martonosi

2012 Recipients
Problem A, The Continuous Problem: “The Leaves of a Tree”
Solution:  "The Secrets of Leaves”
               Zhejiang University, Department of Mathematics, Hangzhou, P. R. China
Students:  Cheng Fu, Hangqi Zhao, Danting Zhu
Faculty Advisor:  Professor Zhiyi Tan

Problem B, The Discrete Problem: “Camping Along the Big Long River”
Solution:  "C.A.R.S: Cellular Automaton Rafting Simulation"
               University of Louisville, Department of Mathematics, Louisville, Kentucky
Students:  James Jones, Suraj Kannan, Joshua Mitchell
Faculty Advisor:  Professor Changbing Hu

SIAM Fellows
Class of 2012

SIAM Outstanding Paper Prizes
Winner to be announced

SIAM Student Paper Prize (2011 and 2012 winners)
2011 Recipients:
Necdet Serhat Aybat, Pennsylvania State University; PhD 2011 Columbia University
Title:  "Unified Approach for Minimizing Composite Norms”
Co-Author:  Garud N. Iyengar, Columbia University

Sungwoo Park, Knight Captial Group; PhD 2011 University of Maryland
Title:  "Portfolio Selection Using Tikhonov Filtering to Estimate the Covariance Matrix”     
Co-Author:  Dianne P. O’Leary, University of Maryland

Xiangxiong Zhang, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; PhD 2011 Brown University
Title: "On Maximum-Principle-Satisfying High Order Schemes for Scalar Conservation Laws"     
Co-Author:  Chi-Wang Shu, Brown University

2012 Recipients:        
Brittany D. Froese, Simon Fraser University
Title:  "Convergent Finite Difference Solvers for Viscosity Solutions of the Elliptic Monge-Ampère Equation in Dimensions Two and Higher”
Co-Author:  Adam Oberman, Simon Fraser University

Stefanie Hollborn, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany
Title:  "Reconstructions from Backscatter Data in Electric Impedance Tomography”

Marina Moraiti, University of Pittsburgh
Title:  "On the Quasistatic Approximation in the Stokes-Darcy Model of Groundwater-Surface Water Flows”

SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession
Barbara Lee Keyfitz, The Ohio State University, USA


Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+