Call for Nominations

Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization

The nomination period for this prize is closed. Please write to [email protected] if you have any questions.

The Mathematical Optimization Society (MOS) administers this prize and it is awarded jointly by MOS and SIAM. The Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization is awarded every three years for an outstanding contribution in the area of continuous optimization published in the six calendar years prior to the award year. The work will be judged on its mathematical quality, significance, and originality. Clarity of the exposition and the value of the work in practical applications may be considered as secondary attributes.

The 2018 prize will be presented at the SIAM Annual Meeting, July 9-13, 2018, in Portland, Oregon. The award will include a certificate containing the citation and a cash prize of $1,500. In the event of joint authorship, the prize will be divided.

Eligibility Criteria:

The work to be considered should form the final publication of the main result(s) and should have been published as an article in a recognized journal, a comparable, well-referenced volume intended to publish final publications only, or a monograph consisting chiefly of original results rather than previously published material. Extended abstracts and prepublications, and articles in published journals, journal sections or proceedings that are intended to publish non-final papers, are not eligible. The work must have been published during the six calendar years preceding the award year.

For the 2018 award, the work must bear a publication date between the years of 2012 and 2017.

Nomination Deadline:

November 30, 2017 - Extended to December 20, 2017 - Closed for Nominations

Required Materials:

Nominations and questions regarding the nomination process should be sent to:

Professor Katya Scheinberg
Email: [email protected]

View the call for nominations at the MOS website.

Selection Committee:
Katya Scheinberg (Chair), Lehigh University
Philip E. Gill, University of California, San Diego
Andreas Griewank, Yachay University, Ecuador
Etienne de Klerk, Tilburg University and Delft University of Technology

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+