Call for Nominations

Dénes König Prize


The nomination period for this prize is closed. Please write to [email protected] if you have any questions.

The SIAG on Discrete Mathematics (SIAG/DM) awards the Dénes König Prize every two years to an individual or individuals in their early career for outstanding research contributions, as determined by the prize committee, in an area of discrete mathematics based on a publication by the candidate(s) in a peer-reviewed journal published in the three (3) calendar years prior to the award year.

Eligibility Criteria:

The term ”discrete mathematics” is used in the spirit of the SIAG/DM website, and includes combinatorics, graph theory, cryptography, discrete optimization, mathematical programing, coding theory, information theory, game theory, and theoretical computer science.

One key paper must be cited as evidence of the contributions, though a body of papers may be discussed in the nomination. The qualifying key paper must have been published in English in a peer-reviewed journal bearing a publication date within the three (3) calendar years prior to the award year. Each candidate must be a PhD student or, at the time of the award, be within four (4) calendar years after completing their PhD.

For the 2018 award, the paper must have been published between the dates of January 1, 2015 - December 31, 2017. Each candidate must have received their PhD no earlier than 2014.

Nomination Deadline:

November 1, 2017 - Closed for Nominations

Required Materials:

Selection Committee:
Dorit Hochbaum (Chair), UC Berkeley
Jesus De Loera, UC Davis
Alan Frieze, Carnegie Mellon University
Kazuo Iwama, Kyoto University
Alejandro Schaffer, US National Institutes of Health

Contact [email protected] with questions regarding nomination procedure.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+