Call for Nomination

T. Brooke Benjamin Prize in Nonlinear Waves


The nomination period for this prize is closed. Please write to [email protected] if you have any questions.

The SIAG on Nonlinear Waves and Coherent Structures (SIAG/NWCS) awards the T. Brooke Benjamin Prize every two years to one mid-career established researcher for recent outstanding work on a topic in nonlinear waves, as evidenced by a body of work with at least one significant publication in English in a peer-reviewed journal within the four (4) calendar years preceding the award year.

Eligibility Criteria:

The candidate’s work must contain a significant contribution to the field of nonlinear waves, broadly interpreted in the spirit of the SIAG/NWCS conferences. One key paper must be cited as evidence of the contribution, though a body of papers may be discussed in the nomination.The prize is a mid-career established researcher prize and, as such, is awarded to a researcher who has been in the profession at least ten (10) years and no more than twenty (20) years preceding the award date. The qualifying key paper must have been published in English in a peer-reviewed journal or conference proceedings within the four (4) calendar years preceding the award year.

For the 2018 award, the candidate must have received their PhD within the calendar years 1998 - 2007. The paper must have been published between the dates of January 1, 2014 – December 31, 2017.

Nomination Deadline:

October 15, 2017 – Closed for Nominations

Required Materials:

Selection Committee:
Roger Grimshaw (Chair), University College London
Jerry Bona, University of Illinois
Panayotis Kevrekidis, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Thiab Taha, University of Georgia
Catherine Sulem, University of Toronto

Contact [email protected] with questions regarding nomination procedure.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+