Call for Entries

James H. Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software


The James H. Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software is awarded every four years to the authors of an outstanding piece of numerical software. The prize is awarded for an entry that best addresses all phases of the preparation of high-quality numerical software. The prize is intended to recognize innovative software in scientific computing and to encourage researchers in the earlier stages of their career.

Eligibility Criteria:

Selection will be based on: clarity of the software implementation and documentation, importance of the application(s) addressed by the software; portability, reliability, efficiency, and usability of the software implementation; clarity and depth of analysis of the algorithms and the software in the accompanying paper; and quality of the test software.

Candidates must have worked in mathematics or science for at most 12 years (full time equivalent) after receiving their PhD as of January 1 of the award year, allowing for breaks in continuity. The prize committee can make exceptions, if in their opinion the candidate is at an equivalent stage in their career.

For the 2019 award, a candidate must have received their PhD no earlier than January 1, 2007.

Entry Deadline:

June 1, 2018

Required Materials:

Selection Committee
Jorge Moré (Chair), Argonne National Laboratory
Sven Hammarling, Numerical Algorithms Group Ltd and University of Manchester
Michael Heroux, Sandia National Laboratories
Randall J. LeVeque, University of Washington
Katherine Yelick, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Contact [email protected] with questions regarding nomination procedure.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+