Prizes and Awards

A Prizes and Awards Luncheon will be held on Tuesday, July 10, 2018. The following will be recognized during the 2018 SIAM Annual Meeting:

I.E. Block Community Lecture
Thomas Hales, University of Pittsburgh, USA

The John von Neumann Lecture
Charles F. Van Loan, Cornell University, USA

The AWM-SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture
Eva Tardos, Cornell University, USA

Julian Cole Lectureship
L. Pamela Cook, University of Delaware, USA

W.T. and Idalia Reid Prize
Volker Mehrmann, Technische Universitaet Berlin, Germany

Richard C. DiPrima Prize
Peter Gangl, Technische Universität, Graz, Austria

SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession
John E. Hopcroft

SIAM Outstanding Paper Prizes
David F. Gleich, Purdue University
PageRank Beyond the Web (SIREV 2015)

Christian Lubich, University of Tübingen; Ivan V. Oseledets, Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology; and Bart Vandereycken, University of Geneva
Time Integration of Tensor Trains (SINUM 2015)

Guo Luo, City University of Hong Kong; and Thomas Y. Hou, California Institute of Technology
Toward the Finite-Time Blowup of the 3D Axisymmetric Euler Equations:  A Numerical Investigation (MMS 2014)

SIAM Student Paper Prize
Marya Bazzi, PhD University of Oxford
Community Detection in Temporal Multilayer Networks, with an Application to Correlation Networks (MMS 2016)

Gene S. Kopp, PhD University of Michigan
The Arithmetic Geometry of Resonant Rossby Wave Triads (SIAGA 2017)

Yiqiao Zhong, Princeton University
Near-Optimal Bounds for Phase Synchronization (SIOPT 2018)

SIAM Fellows Class of 2018 will be recognized at the SIAM Business Meeting, followed by a short reception.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+