Image credit: Based on Audet and Dennis' plot of Kolda, Lewis and Torczon's modification
of the Dennis Wood canoe function

Sponsored by the SIAM Activity Group on Optimization.


Slides from the talks of most of the Invited speakers are now available. They can be found under Invited Presentations.

The recipients of the 2008 SIAM Activity Group on Optimization Prize (SIAG/OPT) are Alexandre d'Aspremont, Laurent El Ghaoui, Michael I. Jordan, and Gert R. G. Lanckriet.

They have been awarded the prize for their paper, "A Direct Formulation for Sparse PCA Using Semidefinite Programming", published in SIAM Review 49(3), July 2007.

The prize will be awarded and Alex d'Aspremont will present the paper at the SIAG/Optimization Prize Award and Lecture session on Sunday, May 11, from 1:45 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. in the Imperial Ballroom on the Mezzanine Level.

Organizing Committee

Kurt M. Anstreicher (Co-chair), University of Iowa
Michael C. Ferris, University of Wisconsin
Anders Forsgren, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Sweden
Michel X. Goemans, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Eldad Haber, Emory University
Sven Leyffer (Co-chair), Argonne National Laboratory
Alexander Martin, Technische Universitat Darmstadt, Germany
Katya Scheinberg, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Claudia Sagastizabal, IMPA, Brazil
Jie Sun, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+