Call for Nominations

Theodore von Kármán Prize

The Theodore von Kármán Prize is awarded every five years for a notable application of mathematics to mechanics and/or the engineering sciences made during the five to ten years preceding the award.  The award may be given either for a single notable achievement or for a collection of such achievements.

The Von Kármán Prize will be awarded at the 2014 SIAM Annual Meeting (AN14), to be held July 7-11, 2014, in Chicago, Illinois.

Description of the Award

The award consists of a hand-calligraphed certificate and a cash award of $1,000.  The recipient is requested to present the Von Kármán Prize Lecture at the annual meeting.  SIAM will reimburse the recipient's travel expenses to attend the meeting to receive the award and deliver the lecture.


Nominations should be sent to [email protected] by November 15, 2013.  Attach a letter of nomination, including a description of the contribution(s), a CV of the candidate, and letters of support from two or three experts (not more than three letters).  Letters should be addressed as below:

Dr. Felix Otto,
Chair, Theodore von Karman Prize Committee
c/o J. M. Littleton
3600 Market Street, 6th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19104-2688

E-mail: [email protected]
Phone: +1-215-382-9800 ext. 303
Fax: +1-215-386-7999

Selection Committee

Click here to see a list of selection committee members by year.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+